MINUTES

The Minutes of the Regular Meeting of the Month of April of the 2019-20 Board of Education Township High School District 214 held on May 14, 2020 at 7:02 p.m.

Per the Illinois Executive Order 2020-07:

Section 6. During the duration of the Gubernatorial Disaster Proclamation, the provisions of the Open Meetings Act, 5 ILCS 120, requiring or relating to in-person attendance by members of a public body are suspended. Specifically, (1) the requirement in 5 ILCS 120/2.01 that "members of a public body must be physically present" is suspended; and (2) the conditions in 5 ILCS 120/7 limiting when remote participation is permitted are suspended. Public bodies are encouraged to postpone consideration of public business where possible. When a meeting is necessary, public bodies are encouraged to provide video, audio, and/or telephonic access to meetings to ensure members of the public may monitor the meeting, and to update their websites and social media feeds to keep the public fully apprised of any modifications to their meeting schedules or the format of their meetings due to COVID-19, as well as their activities relating to COVID-19.

Issued by the Governor March 16, 2020

President Petro called the meeting to order at 7:02 p.m. and R. Knoepfle called the roll. The following members were present:

William Dussling Mark Hineman Alva Kreutzer Mildred Palmer Dan Petro Leonard Walker Todd Younger Vice President Member Member President Member Member

Absent at roll call:

None

Also present at the meeting were: D. Schuler, superintendent; C. Johnson, associate superintendent for finance and operations; M. Johnson, assistant superintendent for student services; Lopez, associate superintendent for teaching and learning; K. Kraft, principal, specialized schools; J. Laskowski, executive administrative assistant to the superintendent; R. Knoepfle, executive assistant to the school board and superintendent; P. Mogge, director of community engagement and outreach; T. Schlorff, director of instructional technology and technology services: and citizens.

1. <u>PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE</u>

President Petro led the Board and audience in the Pledge of Allegiance.

2. <u>APPROVAL OF MINUTES</u>

It was moved by Hineman and seconded by Younger that the Board of Education approve the minutes of the Regular Meeting of April 16, 2020, the Closed Session Meeting of April 16, 2020, the Special Meeting of April 29, 2020 and the Closed Session Meeting of April 29, 2020.

Upon roll call, the motion carried.

Ayes: Dussling, Hineman, Kreutzer, Palmer, Walker, Younger, Petro Nayes: None

3. <u>STUDENT RECOGNITION</u>

The following students were recognized for their achievements in the areas indicated:

<u>Howard Lester Awards</u> Josh Methner, John Hersey High School Janine Boyan, John Hersey High School

<u>Richard W. Calisch Arts Unlimited Award</u> Abigail Franke, Elk Grove High School

Richard W. Calisch Arts Unlimited Honorable Mentions:

Laurynas Zavistanavicius, Buffalo Grove High School Anna Gorrill, John Hersey High School Michael Fergus, Prospect High School Joseph Heck, Rolling Meadows High School Veronica Camargo, Wheeling High School

Stephen D. Berry Award of Excellence - 2020 National Merit Finalists

Kaeley Appleton, Prospect High School Jessica Bek, John Hersey High School Nicholas Castaneda, Buffalo Grove High School Joseph Demaria, Rolling Meadows High School Emily Gordon, Prospect High School Karolina Groszewska, John Hersey High School Sydney Hemenway, John Hersey High School George Indelli, Prospect High School Alexander Jarosik, Rolling Meadows High School Maya Kuzak, Prospect High School Maximino Martinez, Elk Grove High School Alexander Rau, Prospect High School Angela Romanelli, Prospect High School Anna Schulz, Prospect High School Amelie Smithson, John Hersey High School Patryk Szczepaniak, John Hersey High School Samantha Wozniczka, Rolling Meadows High School

4. <u>ADJOURN SINE DIE</u>

It was moved by Kreutzer and seconded by Dussling to adjourn sine die. The motion carried.

Upon roll call, the motion carried.

Ayes: Dussling, Hineman, Kreutzer, Palmer, Walker, Younger, Petro Nayes: None

The meeting adjourned sine die at 7:16 p.m.

F. Daniel Petro, president

William J. Dussling, vice president