Return to Headlines

BGHS Scholastic Bowl buzzes its way to State Finals

Published March 13, 2024

Buffalo Grove High School’s Scholastic Bowl team is headed to the IHSA State Finals after knocking off key rival Barrington High School to win its March 9 Sectional Tournament.

The IHSA finals will take place on Saturday, March 16, at Heartland Community College in Normal. BGHS is one of eight finalists competing in the Class 2A tournament.

BGHS’s sectional triumph comes on the heels of winning the 2023-24 MSL Conference Championship as well as the prestigious NAQT Illinois State Championship on February 24. Buffalo Grove bested Barrington to take home the NAQT state crown for the third year in a row, led by the tournament’s top scorer, senior Rohan Ganeshan.

“Buffalo Grove has had an absolutely incredible run so far this season,” said head coach Scott Russell. “Everyone in the scholastic bowl world knows that Buffalo Grove has one of the best, arguably the best, scholastic bowl players in the nation in Rohan Ganeshan. But the key to this season has been the way that all members of the team stepped up their commitment, studied tirelessly over the last few months, and are now contributing in a very significant way in every match. Buffalo Grove is more well-rounded than it has ever been before and we are looking to put everything we have into a team effort at the IHSA State Tournament this weekend.”

Russell pointed out that what made the IHSA Sectional win so special—and unique—was that it featured three of the country’s top 10 ranked teams. To make it to the State Finals, BGHS had to beat the current No. 1 team and 2023 national champion Barrington and also No. 9 William Fremd High School. BGHS is currently ranked No. 3 in the nation.

Following the IHSA State Finals, the BGHS team will travel to Atlanta on Memorial Day weekend for the NAQT High School National Championship Tournament. In a memorable finish to the 2023 National Championship, Barrington squeaked by BGHS as the local rivals finished first and second in a field of 304 teams from across the country.